Seeds

I have a bit of a passion at the moment. Well, I have always had it. I am a bit of a closet hippie. But what I really mean is, I love to do lots of arty crafty things, I am loving growing my own food and sharing it, and I am trying to lesson our family’s environmental impact and on our gorgeous planet. Trying to recycle as much as I can, preserve food and I have even started up an excess produce swap group. And to make me even more alternative, I homeschool.

And I absolutely love it all. 
Now, onto the seeds.
Yesterday I made pumpkin Soup for dinner, and decided to save the seeds and hopefully I will be able to plant some and also grow some seedlings to swap with others.
What you need to do is, wash the pulp away from the seeds, and spread out to dry. Leave them for about a week to dry out. I will store them in a brown paper bag and pop them with all my other seeds. They are due for planting in September, October, November and December. So I have a bit of a wait.

Here is the process in photos.




Still a few days before I can pop them into an envelope. 

Here are some other seeds i used the same process with.

Capsicum


And Eggplant


Here’s hoping they work.

Only had one swap this week, but it was for a lovely kiwi fruit cutting. 

It will pop it up onto the frames I made a month or so ago.

Always trying to make a difference. We throw out so many seeds each day. Maybe you could give it a try? Would love to hear of your successes and what you have learned from trying to grow from seeds.

Until next time

Lots of it

Mandy

Xxx

Leave a comment