Pumpkin Soup and Watering.

Ah. I love the cooler weather. Temperatures that don’t make you feel uncomfortable and sunshine that warms you just that right amount. It’s weather that makes me bring out the slow cooker and the slow cooker makes me feel like a domestic goddess. I feel like I’m on top of things when I have put dinner on by 9 am.

I started my day with a coffee, and then toast. I watered the Vegie patch and enjoyed the sun warming my back and listened to the soft sounds of the water hitting the leaves and plants  I have been nurturing. I set the sprinkler on to give the citrus a huge soak. I then chopped and diced and sautéed and put the pumpkin Soup on in the slow cooker.

Of course I did loads more, taught the kiddos and cleaned and , mulched the veggies. I taught miss m how to sew a very cute pillow case and master j was encouraged to cook some healthy banana muffins. Miss m also cooked a second dinner as she wasn’t feeling pumpkin Soup, so plenty of leftovers for tomorrow nights dinner. Too easy.

Bit as I did all of that, I took a different approach to it. Different to my usual hurried sprinklings, and getting impatient , and rushing through the chores. Today I saw everything that I did as nurturing. Looking after the plants that will feed my family, and  check to see how much they have grown. I really looked at all the different types of leaves I am growing, looked at the little patches of brown on the grass and wondered why ? I marvelled at the spider webs that were created and how they carried tiny little droplets of water that sparkled in the sunlight. I  wondered why there were bird feathers on the ground and tentatively looked about, worried that I would find a bird that had had a misfortune, which made me wish I had some chooks. There was no bird thankfully. Tiny water droplets tickled my skin which was refreshing, but cold because air had quite a nip in it. I got lost in my Watering, and wanted to take some photos of it. Weird right.

I hung clothes on the line and took the time to try and straighten the line . It’s a bit uneven and really annoying me as the lines droop, which makes it tricky to hang up cloths. But I slowly tried to fix it, and did it mindfully. Tugging and pulling the cord, slowly figuring out the lengths and the paths each was taking. It didn’t work, but is a little better. Lol.

It really enjoyed my time outside this morning and will try to make sure I look at all other things in my life just as thoughtfully.

Anyway. I made a so so simple pumpkin Soup. Not sure how to post it up, but  have made a little recipe page that eventually you can download and print off for your use.

I am a a mum to 6 kids, all adults or almost adults, and I have learnt a few little tricks along the way. We are not worldly travelers but love home and being at home, so as a result, we spend a lot of time there, cooking and basically doing homey sort of activities. Bit Of A Hippie blog will find me sharing recipes, craftyness, templates and ideas to help you or give you some ideas that may just make your life a little easier and possibly more fun. Budget saving ideas and sewing, artyness and a little educational stuff thrown in.

I am wanting to take life a little more slowly, mindfully.

IMG_3414IMG_3415

IMG_3419IMG_3416IMG_3417Lovely muffins cooks by mister j.

IMG_3435

And the lovely pillow case miss m made.

And the pumpkin Soup.

 

Dont forget to subscribe too.

until next time

lots of it

Mandy

xxx

Leave a Reply

